Report of the Chair

Scrutiny Programme Committee – 14 November 2016

MEMBERSHIP OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND WORKING GROUPS

Purpose	The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established. This report advises of relevant matters that need to be considered.
Content	This report is provided to facilitate any changes that need to be made.
Councillors are being asked to	 agree any membership changes of Panels and Working Groups necessary
Lead Councillor(s)	Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme Committee
Lead Officer & Report Author	Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Coordinator Tel: 01792 637257 E-mail: <u>brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk</u>

1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Children's Readiness for School Inquiry:

REMOVE Councillor Sybil Crouch and Councillor Mary Jones ADD Councillor Ceinwen Thomas

Following this change the revised membership will be 7:

Labour Councillors: 5

Jan Curtice	Hazel Morris (CONVENER)
Fiona Gordon	Ceinwen Thomas
Elliot King	

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 1

Mike Day

Independent Councillor: 1

Wendy Fitzgerald	

2.2 Adult Services Performance Panel

REMOVE Councillor Ann Cook

Following this change the revised membership will be 10:

Labour Councillors: 5

Uta Clay (CONVENER)	Paulette Smith
Yvonne Jardine	Gloria Tanner
Geraint Owens	

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3

Peter Black	Jeff Jones
Chris Holley	

Independent Councillor: 1

Susan Jones

Conservative Councillor: 1

Paxton Hood-Williams	

2.3 Houses in Multiple Occupation Working Group:

ADD Councillor Joe Hale

Following this change the revised membership will be 14:

Labour Councillors: 6

Sybil Crouch	Hazel Morris
Nick Davies	Terry Hennegan
Joe Hale	Mike White

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3

Mary Jones (convener)	Graham Thomas
Huw Rees	

Independent Councillor: 3

David Cole	Keith Marsh
Wendy Fitzgerald	

Conservative Councillor: 1

	Tony Colburn	
--	--------------	--

Non Aligned Councillor: 1

Peter May	

3. Legal Implications

3.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

4. Financial Implications

4.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

Background Papers: None

Legal Officer: Wendy Parkin Finance Officer: Carl Billingsley